Messi equaled old record of Leônidas

The legendary Brazilian forward Leônidas da Silva once set an interesting record, which, it seems, hasn’t received any attention. 
Of his first 15 matches for the national team, he failed to score in only one, namely in the Copa Roca match against Argentina (0-3) on 25 February 1940.
Throughout many decades, before and after, no one repeated such a long streak - scoring in 14 out of 15 successive matches. Although two came very close. Steve Bloomer in 1895-1901 and Ole Madsen in 1961-1962 scored in 13 out of 14 consecutive national team matches with their participation.
And only Lionel Messi became the man who managed to equal Leonidas’ achievement. Between 5 June 2022 and 8 September 2023, he has played 15 games for Argentina, of which did not score in only one, on 30 November 2022, in the last round of the World cup group stage against Poland (2-0).
Messi's streak would possibly have continued further if he had played full time in his next match, a 1-0 win against Paraguay on 13 October. But due to injury, his participation was limited to only a segment of the second half. What was enough for two hits on the post, but not for a goal.
So Leônidas’ old record stood. But at least it was finally repeated.
This ranking summarizes the longest streaks in the history of national teams, with condition of scoring in all games except one.

 PlayerNational teamGamesFromTo
 Lionel MessiArgentina1505/06/202208/09/2023
3Steve BloomerEngland1409.03.189530/03/1901
 Ole MadsenDenmark1428/05/196112/12/1962
5Klaus FischerGermany1317/10/197917/02/1982
 Stern John Trinidad and Tobago1322/07/199817/11/1999
7Abdul Ghani Minhat Malaysia1228/05/196129/08/1962
 Poul "Tist" NielsenDenmark1202/07/191215/10/2016
 Milan GalićYugoslavia1224/04/196010/09/1960
 Sándor KocsisHungary1223/05/195408/12/1954
 Hristo StoichkovBulgaria1226/04/199508/06/1997