Picture : Al Ahly's team 2010

Africa’s Club of the 1st Decade (2001-2010)

Al-Ahly Cairo (Egypt)


Al-Ahly Cairo increased its lead in 2010 and was crowned as Africa’s Club of the 1st Decade of the 21st Century, while the two Tunisian clubs from Tunis and Sahel exchanged positions. There were further changes of position among the “Top 10” and very much more in the African club rankings for this decade. It is remarkable two Egyptian and two Tunisian clubs were among the “Top 10” and that three North African clubs led the ranking.


Africa‘s Club of the 20th Century, Asante Kotoko Kumase (Ghana) occupied only 11th place. The “Top 100” are composed of clubs from 21 countries. The countries with the most clubs among the “Top 100” are: Algeria (11), Nigeria (11), South Africa (9), Egypt (8), Morocco (8), Zambia (8), Cameroon (7), Tunesia (6), Ghana (6), Angola (5) and the Ivory Coast (4). 

During the period 2001-2010 268 African clubs amassed more than 150 points.


Al-Ahly Cairo was honoured as Africa’s Club of the 1st Decade with a Certificate and a trophy on occasion of the World Football Gala 2012 in Barcelona.


The Confédération Africaine de Football (CAF) counts 55 member countries. After nine of ten years of the first decade, 230 of the well over 1,000 clubs in Africa earned more than 150 points. After nine years, the African rankings for the first decade were topped by Al-Ahly Cairo (Egypt) and two Tunisian clubs, Étoile Sportive du Sahel (Sousse) and Espérance Sportive de Tunis, followed by two West African clubs, ASEC Mimosas Abidjan (Ivory Coast) and Contonsport FC Garoua (Cameroon).


Al Ahly won 20 international titles (8 CAF Champions League, 4 CAF Cup Winners Cup, 6 CAF Supercups, 1 Confederation Cup, 1 Africa-Asia Cup) and 88 national titles (41 Championships, 36 Cups, 11 Supercups) in his history.







1. Al-Ahly Cairo   (Egypt)   1.201,5 points

2. Espérance Sportive de Tunis   (Tunisia)   1.050,5

3. Etoile Sportive du Sahel   (Tunisia)   1.008,5

4. ASEC Mimosas Abidjan   (Côte-d’Ivoire)   940,5

5. Cotonsport FC de Garoua   (Cameroon)   891,5

6. Zamalek SC Cairo   (Egypt)   808,5

7. Jeunesse Sportive de Kabylie, Tizi Ouzou   (Algeria)   793,0

8. Enyimba International FC Aba   (Nigeria)   778,5

9. Al-Hilal Omdurman   (Sudan)   766,0

10. AS FAR Rabat   (Morocco)   745,0

11. Asante Kotoko SC Kumasi   (Ghana)   736,5

12. Al-Ismailia   (Egypt)   725,5

13. RAJA Casablanca   (Morocco)   696,5

14. CS Sfaxien Sfax   (Tunisia)   695,0

15. Mamelodi Sundowns FC Pretoria   (South Africa)   692,5

16. Al-Merreikh Omdurman   (Sudan)   671,0

17. Atlético Petróleos Luanda   (Angola)   663,0

18. Union Sportive Madina Alger   (Algeria)   655,0

19. Orlando Pirates FC Marshalltown   (South Africa)   595,5

20. Wydad AC Casablanca   (Morocco)   594,0