Picture : A goal of Fernando Cornejo and Palestino won over Flamengo !

Copa Libertadores: statistics on group stage match-day 4 (8-10 May) 

*Sensational win of Palestino (Chile) over Flamengo (1-0) has broken the long Flamengo's streak: 31 consecutive games scoring in the Copa Libertadores.
This run lasted almost 3 years, since 0-0 vs Vélez Sarsfield on 27 May 2021.

*Meanwhile, Palestino have achieved their 2nd win in a row in this group stage; something they didn’t taste since 1979.

*It took even longer, 46 years, for Palestino to achieve their second victory against Brazilian rivals in Copa Libertadores (in total 10 games): the previous one was against São Paulo in the 1978 edition. 

*Peñarol's worst ever streak of 9 away defeats in a row has come to an end with the away win over Caracas (1-0). 
The last time Peñarol celebrated a victory as visitors in the competition more than 5 years ago (since 3 April 2019, 1-0 vs Flamengo).

*Atlético Mineiro (1-0 away vs Rosario Central) once again won all 4 first games in a group stage like they did in 2013 (when they were crowned as champions).
Now they became the first team to qualify for the round of 16 of the Copa Libertadores 2024.

*Talleres Córdoba (3-1 vs Barcelona Guayaquil) managed to win two consecutive games in the Copa Libertadores for the first time in their history.

*Alianza Lima (1-1 vs Cerro Porteño) are still unable to beat at home any team from Paraguay in Copa Libertadores. They did it last more than 45 years ago, on 14 September 1978 (3-0 against the same Cerro Porteño).

*Liverpool Montevideo (0-5 at home vs Palmeiras) has equaled the heaviest defeat Uruguayn clubs ever suffered in the CONMEBOL competitions as hosting side.
Previously, Nacional were humiliated 0-5 at home by the same opposition, Palmeiras, in Copa Mercosur 1998, and Rocha lost to Vélez Sarsfield, also 0-5, in Copa Libertadores 2006.

*Endrick (Palmeiras) became is the third player under 18 years of age in the Copa Libertadores history to score 3 goals (1 in 2023 and 2 in 2024), after Gustavo Neffa (Paraguay, for Olimpia in 1989) and Diego Rubio (Chile, for Colo Colo in 2011).