Romelu Lukaku in all-time ranking for annual international scorers

Here we publish for the first time the all-time ranking for the most prolific international goal-scorers in a single calendar year.
33 occasions of 20 or more international goals scoring during a year by a player are collected in the table.
Romelu Lukaku, the winner of the 2023 IFFHS international goal-scorer award, entered the ranking due to his great last year’s performance. He took 15th place in the historical chart.
Cristiano Ronaldo has reached the 20-goal annual mark most often (5 times), and he is the only one who has once managed to reach 30. His 32 goals scored in 2017 became the new world record. Before him, Just Fontaine (26 goals in 1958) held the record for a long time.

12017Cristiano Ronaldo211132PortugalReal Madrid (Spain)
21958Just Fontaine81826FranceReims
31909Vivian Woodward  2525England, England Am.Chelmsford, Chelsea
42012Lionel Messi 131225ArgentinaBarcelona (Spain)
52013Cristiano Ronaldo151025PortugalReal Madrid (Spain)
61996Ali Daei22224IranPersepolis, Al Sadd (Qatar)
72021Harry Kane 81624England Tottenham 
81972Gerd Müller111324Germany Bayern Munich
92016Cristiano Ronaldo111324PortugalReal Madrid (Spain)
102021Robert Lewandowski131124PolandBayern (Germany)
111954Sándor Kocsis 2323HungaryHonvéd
122013Ali Ashfaq91423MaldivesNew Radiant
131997Karim Bagheri 22022IranPersepolis, Arminia (Germany)
142022Lionel Messi 41822ArgentinaPSG (France)
152023Romelu Lukaku71522BelgiumInter, Roma (Italy)
162015Robert Lewandowski111122PolandBayern (Germany)
171937György Sárosi121022HungaryFerencváros
181908Vivian Woodward  2121England, England Am.Tottenham 
192000Bashar Abdullah 2121KuwaitAl-Salmiya
202000Ali Daei21921IranHertha (Germany)
212019Cristiano Ronaldo71421PortugalJuventus (Italy)
222022Kylian Mbappé91221FrancePSG
232000Rivaldo13821BrazilBarcelona (Spain)
242016Lionel Messi 13821ArgentinaBarcelona (Spain)
252000Romário14721BrazilVasco da Gama
261972Abdul Kadir 2020Indonesia Persebaya
271960Borivoje Kostić21820YugoslaviaCrvena Zvezda 
281997Ronaldo51520BrazilBarcelona (Spain), Inter (Italy)
292015Ahmed Khalil61420UAEAl Ahli
302018Baghdad Bounedjah13720AlgeriaAl Sadd (Qatar)
312014Cristiano Ronaldo15520PortugalReal Madrid (Spain)
322013Issam Jemâa16420TunisiaKuwait SC (Kuwait)
332007Trésor Mputu19120DR CongoTP Mazembe

Goals that are counted:
ICC = scored in official competitions held by continental confederations and FIFA (plus the Mitropa Cup until 1940 and Fairs Cup),
NT = scored in “full internationals” for national teams.

Tie breaker : more national team goals