The determination of the IFFHS All Time Ranking of The World's Best Goalkeeper carried out analogous as those of The World's Best Goalkeeper of the Decade or the Century, so there is a uniform system for the future. From the annual world ranking of the Goalkeepers (as a result of the world vote) the IFFHS will take into consideration the "Top 20" for each year and allocate points to each place. So the first-placed receives 20 points, the second-placed 19 points, the third-placed 18 points... and a point for twentieth place. If the annual world ranking comprises more than 20 goalkeepers, then the goalkeepers from 21st place onwards receive no points. If the annual world ranking comprises fewer than 20 goalkeepers (based on the fixed rules), no points will be awarded for the unoccupied places. Adding the points from the individual years provides an IFFHS All Time World Ranking since the beginning of the Goalkeeper Award in 1987 to end 2022.

Since already 36 years, the IFFHS crowned each year THE WORLD’S BEST GOALKEEPER (List of winners in the Column GALA AWARDS).




Gianluigi Buffon, the Italian Legend Goalkeeper, winner of 5 individual annual IFFHS Trophies (Record with Spain’s Iker Casillas and Germany’s Manuel Neuer) , leads the IFFHS All Time Ranking with 357 points, 97 more than the second Iker Casillas and 138 more than the third Manuel Neuer ! Buffon was ranked 18 years in the annual World's Top 5, Casillas 12 years ,Manuel Neuer is already also 11 years and Petr Cech 10 years


The Top 10 is composed of 9 European and 1 South American Goalkeepers. Italy (Buffon, Zenga), Spain (Casillas, Zubizaretta) and Germany (Neuer, Kahn) have each two goalkeepers in the Top 10.

The Top 50 is composed of 37 UEFA Goalkeepers, 10 CONMEBOL and 3 CONCACAF. Spain and Germany (each 6), Italy and Brazil (each 5) dominate the Goalkeepers ranking. 

The IFFHS All Time Ranking from 1987 to 2022 :

Best UEFA Goalkeeper : Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)

Best CONMEBOL Goalkeeper : Jose Luis Chilavert (Paraguay)

Best AFC Goalkeeper : Mohamed Abdullaziz Al-Deayea (Saudi Arabia)

Best CAF Goalkeeper : Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria)

Best CONCACAF Goalkeeper : Keylor Navas (Costa Rica)

Best Oceania Goalkeeper : Mark Bosnich (Australia) 


Manuel Neuer (ranking at the 3rd place), Thibaut Courtois (8th), Hugo Lloris (13th) and Jan Oblak (15th) are the only active Goalkeepers in the Top 20. 


1Gianluigi BUFFONItaly357
2Iker CASILLASSpain260
3Manuel NEUERGermany219
4Petr CECHCzech Republic218
5Edwin VAN DER SARNetherlands201
6Peter SCHMEICHELDenmark179
7Oliver KAHNGermany162
8Thibaut COURTOISBelgium150
9Jose Luis Felix CHILAVERTParaguay146
10Walter ZENGAItaly132
11Andoni ZUBIZARETTASpain132
12Claudio TAFFARELBrazil130
13Hugo LLORISFrance112
14Michel PREUDHOMMEBelgium124
15Fabien BARTHEZFrance115
15Jan OBLAKSlovenia115
17David SEAMANEngland114
18Victor VALDESSpain113
19Nelson de Jesus e Silva DIDABrazil109
20Vitor Manuel Martins BAIAPortugal94
21Keylor NAVASCosta Rica93
22Gianluca PAGLIUCAItaly90
23Francesco TOLDOItaly82
24Jens LEHMANNGermany81
25Andre TER STEGENGermany78
25ALLISON BeckerBrazil78
27JULIO CESAR SoaresBrazil76
28David DE GEASpain75
29Bodo ILLGNERGermany71
29Johannes VAN BREUKELENNetherlands71
31Roberto Carlos ABBONDANZIERIArgentina68
32Sergio GOYCOCHEAArgentina66
33Andreas KÖPKEGermany64
34Jorge CAMPOSMexico62
34Peter SHILTONEngland62
36Thomas RAVELLISweden61
37Rinat DASAEVRussia57
38Angelo PERUZZIItaly56
38Neville SOUTHALLWales56
40Jose Manuel REINASpain54
41Rogerio CENIBrazil53
42Jose Santiago CANIZARESSpain51
42Claudio BRAVOChile51
44Jean Marie PFAFFBelgium49
44Samir HANDANOVICSlovenia49
46Jerzy DUDEKPoland48
47Igor AKINFEEVRussia47
48Oscar Eduardo CORDOBAColombia38
48Bernard LAMAFrance38
48Francisco Guillermo OCHOAMexico38