Joachim Löw is The World’s Best National Coach 2014

World Cup champion coach Joachim Löw of Germany has ended the Spanish domination with a massive victory in the IFFHS National Coach Award for 2014.

Experts from more than 60 countries world-wide had little hesitation in acclaiming Löw as the world’s best for the year, awarding him a massive 220 points, one of the biggest totals and margins since the IFFHS began the annual Awards in 1996.

Alejandro Sabella (Argentina) finished second on 71 points with Louis van Gaal (Netherlands) third on 38 points.

Famed Spanish coach Vicente Del Bosque had previously dominated the national coach title with wins in 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013. Löw ,who has had three previoius placings in the poll, has performed meticulous work in his eight years at the helm of the German national team.

He has adjusted to a game philosophy based on the intelligence and the adaptation capacity of his players, giving a new and attractive image of German football.

Argentina coach Sabella and Holland’s Van Gaal took the minor placings mostly due to the performances of their teams in the World Cup in Brazil.

Other coaches such as Pinto (Costa Rica), Sampaoli (Chile) and Herrera (Mexico) also made significant advances in voting following great team performances in Brazil.



1 – Joachim LÖW   (Germany)  220 points

2 – Alejandro SABELLA  (Argentina)  71 points

3 – Louis VAN GAAL   (Netherlands)   38 points

4 – Jose PEKERMAN   (Colombia)  31 points

5 – Jorge Luis PINTO   (Costa Rica)   19 points

6 – Jorge SAMPAOLI   (Chile)   18 points

7 – Miguel HERRERA   (Mexico)   15 points

8 – Marc WILMOTS   (Belgium)  9 points

9 – Didier DESCHAMPS   (France)   8 points

10 – Stephen KESHI  (Nigeria)  1 point


(Visited 788 times, 1 visits today)